Ginger Red - OEGB Int'l Society

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Ginger Red

edited September 2012 in Somethin' to Crow About
Ginger Red seems to be a rising variety, let's discuss the breeding of them here. Post pictures if you've got them.

Comments

• I have been raising gingers for a few years now. I have raised some that I thought were very nice. But when it comes to breeding them I have a few issues... offspring is very inconsistent. I can use a clean hackled male and produce striping in all male offspring. Females come anywhere from heavily patterned to very very lightly. This coming breeding season I plan to make a few crosses to see if I can make them produce more consistent offspring.
  • I would love to see some photos of your Ginger Reds when you get the chance.
  • our gingers have really good edging on the male and female, as far as color, we get both light and dark birds from the same breed pen. the washed out females we put in the sack. the males that have black in the wingbow or breast are also sacked. the males that we keep look something like the new hampshire color pattern, the darker colored males look simular to a black tail red, they are only kept if the have good type, the females range from the standard discription to really red in their base color. all have striping in the hackle and stippelling in the back with shafting .
  • I will try to post some photos later of the males and females, Tim Shelton is the go to man with the ginger questions.
  • Thanks Tater. And yes Tim definitely is... We need him to share his knowledge.
  • I will also post some pictures soon.
  • Tracy, I would like to hear your take on gingers. What do you look for in them when judging them. Are there any things in specific you don't like to see?
  • tracytracy AMARILLO,TX.