Silver Quill for beginner - OEGB Int'l Society

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Silver Quill for beginner

I'm just getting into bantams and really like the silver quill. How would a beginner like myself get a silver quill bloodline? I would like to know what colors to breed in order to get the silver quill?
Thanks
Stephen

Comments

• Sorry, can't help you on that one but perhaps someone out there can point you in the right direction.
  • I know of only 2 people even working on them. If I were just starting out I would look into other varieties a bit better developed. Of the few I have seen they are quite a way from being right yet.
  • I was hoping for some help from veteran breeders. I thought with so few working on them that one more trying would be a step forward. Why work on an established color when I could be helping move forward with one that isn't already there? Progress isn't achieved by sitting around and doing nothing.
  • You will find the more serious a person is about improving something and seeing the overall variety gain popularity the less likely the birds leave until a level of quality has been achieved that they are comfortable with letting a few go. Improvement projects are a real labor of love with great expense and time involved, a great deal of personal pride is taken in the projects and the birds that are turned loose are often kept tight with a close group the primary person truly knows and trusts to help meet their end goal.
    Find a resource working on them speak with them at length over a period of time and you will likely get what your looking for.
    I wish the best in your efforts
  • scratchscratch Mannsville, Oklahoma
    Semi, Elvis Pate and Bryant Nunnely raise them. You can find Elvis on facebook.