Modern Day Poultry/Agriculture Industry - OEGB Int'l Society

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Modern Day Poultry/Agriculture Industry

Hello Everyone,

My name is Jake Stonebarger and I know that there are probably that do not know me. I showed OE for about 9 years prior to college (2010) and recently got back into birds. I got my BA in Poultry Science from the University of Arkansas as well as a minor in Agricultural Business.
Now I am by no means an expert on anything and only being 23 I have a lot still left to learn, but I do want to share some of my thoughts with you guys.

As men and women who have an interest in a hobby that does pertain to agriculture I feel that it is important that we all know just a little factual and truthful knowledge about the agricultural industry. Todays media portrays modern day agricultural practices as bad and inhumane. Now let me say that there are tons of videos on the web showing animal cruelty and those few individuals that go in and get this footage are picking out those few bad apples in the industry and showing the worst case situations. There is such thing as animal cruelty, there are people that are guilty of it and should be made and example of. There are organizations out there that use these videos to show the world what agriculture is and they say it is the normal thing and that everyone does it.