Length of Tail - OEGB Int'l Society

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Length of Tail

Good morning all,
I just wanted to say I'm very new to OEGB and this site has been great to me in every way. I did a search on this and couldn't come up with anything that would answer my question. Which is, why do OEBG tails get shorter as they mature into a cock? Or is this just in certain strain of OEGB? Thanks, all answers are welcomed.

JD

Comments

• Some strains do better as cocks than others.I believe the use of ckl in breeding pen hurts the future cocks.rockhill bb males were better as cocks.selection of breeders can make pullet, hen, ckl.or cock lines.also male tend to have higher tail carriage as they age.
  • Great info funandgames..
  • what you want in a bird is good balance , when you look at a bird from the side the front and back of the bird needs to balance out , and compliment each other ,
  • Thanks Raven, I always respect your knowledge as a breeder.
  • I have seen females win with short tails med tails and long tails, I know you want good balance in any bird but when I am picking my breeders and show birds I am looking for birds with the longest tails. The standard also indicates this, (TAIL: Main Tail – feathers broad, quills strong, LONG, top two feathers slightly
    curved in a convex manner, tail carried at an angle of 45 above the horizontal.
    Coverts – flowing well up tail.)
  • It also says" Long" in the male standard
  • The age of a bird in the breeding pen is not gonna make it's offspring have short tails as cocks, it's all in genetics. BUT it is true that a lot of oe birds have shorter plumage when they molt into cocks, not like real gamefowl, when they molt into cocks their plumage is longer.
  • lot of my B.B.Red & Blacks have more tail as cocks then they had as Ckls.