Newby - OEGB Int'l Society

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Newby

I've been raising chickens for almost 4 yrs now as a way of dealing with my PTSD from Iraq. I recently bought a pair of Opals at the Anderson show. I'm really interested in getting into this and I'm wanting to know about what do I need to know to get into it. I really like my opals but I've always had a thing for blues as well. I guess my question is what do I need to do to get started, I did order a book of standards but it's still a little bit Greek to me right now. Also how much is too much starting out? I have the space and small pens for multiple pairs just don't want to get in over my head, and don't want to do something wrong where I get looked at like a idiot either. Thanks for any future advice

Comments

• nboonnboon Princeton Texas
    Thank you for for service sir
  • Start slow one or two varieties at most. If they are both Old English study the standard for type. With only one breed you only have to learn and understand one standard as with both varieties type should be the same. Then study the standard for the variety. My general rule of thumb is hatch what you have room for. In other words if you only have room for raising 25 babies don't hatch 26. This is a great sight to ask questions. The people are most helpful. There are many threads and with a little digging, you can probably find answers to every question you have. Thank You for your service in our military and welcome to this great and relaxing hobby. You are amongst friends here.
    Wayne kjundog Melancon
  • Thanks for defending me and my family.
  • Adding to what Kdog said, I would recommend going to some shows to see what good birds in the variety you want to raise look like. Then buy the best breeders you can afford to start with. Good luck!!